Success comes before work in the dictionary

Posted: June 10, 2010 in hockey, ice hockey, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Success only comes before work in the dictionary.

That is a valuable statement that I read in a magazine recently and rings quite true with my situation. I need to work and work hard.

I was today discharged from physiotherapy and deemed fit to start playing again (and just in time), but during the last physio session I realised something that shook me to my core. That realisation was that I am quite out of shape.

Work beckons. There are no short cuts and no easy way out. The only solution is that I have to put my nose to the grind stone and start working, if not for anyone else, for myself. Though there are alterior motives for the need to get back in shape, mainly that I want to look good naked.

However, I’m comforted by the fact that A) I’ve done it before and B) at the moment getting a good sweat going is a real high for me, specially as its not accompanied by searing pain.

What I’m confident about is that after skating this week my knee is now fully pain free and it felt like I had gained some speed. Though that was my own feeling, it could be that I was slow as hell and no one dared to tell me. Keeps the idiot guessing.

But back to my original point about work; last night the Chicago Blackhawks captured its first Stanley Cup in almost 50 years. If you don’t know what the Stanley Cup is you better go back to school as there is a gaping hole in your cultural up-bringing. Either way, what surprised me was the reporting after the game. As it turns out, the Blackhawks goalie, Antti Niemi, worked as a zamboni driver not too long ago. He came from obscurity to rob Cristobal Huet from his starting job and led the team to the Stanley Cup.

Niemi, a complete work-a-holic, had told his wife before the season started that he was looking to play 20 games out of the 82 regular season games, but ended up doing more than that. Through hard work, when he was a nobody in Finland, he has now achieved the greatest trophy any hockey player can ever win.

What motivates me in Niemi’s story is that he is an example of a player that works hard and gets the deserved reward for it, but more the determination that you do not give up when someone tells you you’re not good enough.  It’s the embodiment of Sisu and hard work. As Niemi was hoisting the cup, you could see the joy and the utter shock of ‘what the hell just happened’ on his face.

But again, Niemi would not have achieved this if he didn’t work for the success. Same for the losing teams’ Ville Leino, who was discarded by the Red Wings and came to life with the Flyers, drawing equal to Dino Ciccarelli’s rookie point scoring record in the play-offs.

Not bad, but like said at the start. Success only comes before work in the dictionary. Otherwise, you have to work your ass off to earn success, or even have a shot at it.

I will update you soon if my hard work over the last few years (and a quick conditioning stint) pays off. The head is willing, but body says no a bit too soon for my liking

Leave a Reply

