An update

Posted: July 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

Wow! Things have been manic. I haven’t had the time to update this here blog in a while what with changing jobs, writing articles for Pro Hockey News, training, playing, holidays, etc. The list is endless.

So the main bit of news worth sharing is that I have been signed, after long last. I will be icing for Bristol Pitbulls in the English National League. I had known about the signing for some time as it was offered to me at my second tryout and I accepted without hesitation.

Bristol was my number one choice despite some good clubs showing interest in me as well. Why Bristol? Well, despite me having history with the rink, it is afterall where I sustained my knee injury, I thought the owner of the team had a good vision for the team and how he wants to build things. The coaching staff is experienced and come from the level where I want to play at so it is a good chance for me to learn more, plus the strenght of the team was another big factor for me. There are guys there that I’ve played against in the past and have been in awe of them, so this is a good opportunity for me.

Also Bristol is an up and coming hockey town in the UK so I want to be part of that build up and help the team win.

The news has been out there for a while now, but before posting anything about it on the blog I wanted to make sure that I spoke with my current coach and made sure that he knew about it before.

Obviously the team roster was published on Facebook so a few of my team mates knew before I had the chance to tell the coach, but all in all it was good.

The Cougars have been great to me over the last five odd seasons. I have rekindled my love of the game with the team, I have played with some great players there, but now that my knee is fixed and I’m still on the better side of 30, I want to give this a shot, like I have said here through and through.

That is all for now. I hope to keep this more up-to-date once it starts raining here in the UK and the weather is miserable so I’ll be spending more time infront of a computer screen and a keyboard or once I’ve got the WordPress iPhone app working.

Leave a Reply

