“No one said it would be easy…”

Posted: September 24, 2010 in hockey, ice hockey, Sports

“…No one said it would be this hard”

Yes I went there, I quoted the whinger AKA Chris Martin from Coldplay. Don’t get me wrong there’s a time and a place for Coldplay, but I’ve grown rather tired of the frontman himself.

There’s been a distinct lack of updates on the blog, but there’s been a good reason for it. I’ve been trying to focus getting myself in better shape for the season and I’ve been mega busy at work. The free time that I have I’d rather spend somehow else than sit in front of a computer screen thinking of what to post up here. This is not a post to say the blog will dissapear, but I may not be able to update as frequently as I’d like.

That combined with the fact that I didn’t really want to put up posts up saying how consistently dissapointed I’ve been with myself on the ice and in many respects the quote from Coldplay is adequate. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy playing this level after such a long break but I didn’t expect it to be this difficult. Maybe I’ve loaded huge expectations on myself and I’ve been squeezing the stick harder than I should be, but going from a regular scorer to finding that something is not really working. It’s not my line mates, they know what they’re doing, but at times I’ve felt like I’ve been a passenger on the ice and had the best seat in the house to watch the game instead of play in it.

However, I sort of, in the back of my mind, knew to expect that the first few games would be like that, but you live and learn. One of the reasons why I started this blog was to reflect on my play and this post is exactly that (and mostly written free hand or free flow, I can;t remember what it’s called). There has been a lot of good in my play as well, but mainly I find that I’ve been maybe a bit too hesitant compared to the pre season game we played against the ENL1 team.

That game I actually felt really comfortable on the ice and felt like it was where I belonged and I’ve been tryin to rack my brain where that comfortable feeling went. Sure even then there was things to work on, but atleast it was a better performance and ending up on the scoresheet gave me more confidence.

That being said, I still know I can do it and it’s only a question of finding my feet again and play with some goddamn balls. I was the type of player who laid everything on the line for his team and damnit I know I can do it again. To be fair there isn’t that big of a difference in skill in the ENL2 league and the better rec teams. It’s perhaps time to shed the skin of the first three games and man the fuck up and go out there all guns blazing just like before.

I’ve felt better on the ice in training, bar a few niggles with the heap of shit known as my body, but I’ve played through a lot worse, mainly the knee. Which by the way is still not a 100% in terms of strenght and balance.

Another game tomorrow before I’m away for a week on a business trip. Maybe this post has been hasty and I’m panicking over nothing as the season is long and we’ve only played three games so far. Right now, I’m off to bed, get a good night sleep.

Leave a Reply

