(untitled)

Posted: September 26, 2010 in hockey, ice hockey, Sports

Ah this feels good. Well not a 100% good, but man do I love winning. Being a bad loser I really enjoy winning and winning big, specially if it is against one of the top teams in the league. If you want proof about me being a bad loser, ask my wife and our Monopoly games. We have not played Monopoly in nearly two years, since I finally beat her at it. Damn mathematicians and their numbers.

So yes, this weekend’s win was huge and I’m still riding a high from it, though it is somewhat dampened by the fact that I will miss our next game due to being away for work, but let’s face it, I’ve got to pay the bills and keep food on the table and it’s not bad as I actually like what I do for a change. It’s a shame, but I’m sure that this win is only first of many, though I’m determined that my time away won’t go to waste as I’m content on doing exercise (running, gym etc) while I’m out.

The only thing that I’m not particularly happy about is on a personal front as my statistics column is still showing binoculars, the dreaded 0+0. But in the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter to me who puts up the points as long as we end up a head on the score board. Sure it would be nice to know that I helped us get those goals and so on, but all I can really do is to do my job and make sure that the coach is happy with the performance I put on out there.

Following the last blog post, I actually feel rather comfortable on the ice again. Maybe part of the hesitation I felt was because of a mental block and somewhere in the back of my head I kept telling myself that I got hurt playing at Bristol, but the stupid thing is, I play for the team now and I have nothing to be afraid of. The other thing that I wasn’t fully happy with was the strength in my knee, but again based on my last consultation with my doctor, it is going to take another 7-8 months of hard work to have the degree of stability and strength back where I would not notice it.

Speaking of which, from my rec days, I’m happy that I’m no longer playing against the Smith brothers. Adi and Mike Smith during their time with the Bristol Warriors used to put up like a hat trick per shift. Each! Not to mention some of the other guys who I played against like Sackic and Phelon, so it feels good to know that you’ve now got those guys on your side rather than opponents.

As I’ll be shipping up to Boston on Tuesday, I can only wish my team mates success in their match over the weekend and to enjoy Thursday’s training session and the penalty shoot out we got as a reward for winning. Not to kiss ass, (if the coach reads this), but I’ve really enjoyed the style of coaching on the ice. The feedback is direct in that if you screw up you know about it and that you do not start to mess about on the ice until you’ve got the right to do it (getting the big W’s). It reminds me a lot of my coach I had in Utrech. Willem Van Den Kraak was similar in a lot of ways, the only difference being that I now understand what the hell is being said, instead of only about 80% and guessing the rest. My first coach in Utrecht, Martin Pickard, was also really good, but he was soft compared to Willem or coach Clarky.

I look forward to getting back out there again soon. I’m not saying that we will go on an undefeated streak for the rest of the season, but like I’ve said here before: hockey is a rollercoaster ride. There are incredible highs and really, really bad lows and all you can do is put your nose to the grind-stone and keep working till get there. Right now though. I feel pretty damn awesome!

Leave a Reply

