Too cold?

Posted: December 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

In my last post I romaticised my childhood and my memories of playing out-doors and how the frost reminded me of the eager anticipation of winter. Maybe it’s worth pointing out that I didn’t have a 5km trip to the nearest rink but merely 2km. The world felt so much bigger when you were a child.

As Christmas has now come and sort of gone, I’ve come to visit my native Finland for a week and ofcourse I took my skates with me so that I have a chance to go outside and play a bit of shinny on the public rinks. I have to admit that as I’ve been abroad for the past 12-13 years, I must’ve grown a bit soft. This morning it was -9 degrees and I thought that it was a bit cold.

However, after lazying about in the house I caught a glimpse of a few kids running towards the closest rink (about 150 meters from my parents house). Couple of things I took notice of at first. The kids were carrying quite nice and expensive looking composite sticks (I’m sure Santa brought them) and kit, mainly gloves and some goalie equipment. Nice! Though back when I was young the kit or padding you wore was the clothing on your back. Not that I’m complaining though.

This made me realise a yearning to go out there myself, specially after watching the opening game of the Under 20s World Championships. I have to say, team Finland looked a lot better than it did last year. A really spirited effort from the kids. But eitherway, back to the main track.

Since watching that game I decided that -9 is not cold. It didn’t used to be. Besides, why should a bit of cold prevent me from doing something that I’ve looked forward to for a long time. Having said that I’ve dug out my skates and I’m now off to the neares supermarket (Wal-mart or Canadian Tyre for all the Americans/Canadians) to buy a stick and get my skates sharpened. Then it’s off to the rink.

As I have been rubbish at updating, I wanted to wish you all Happy Holidays (a bit late) and I hope that you had a good Christmas with your families and you are looking forward to the new year. I know I am. I’m going to bed at 22:00pm.

Thank you for reading the blog and my thoughts in 2010. I appreciate all the visits and I will try to post more in the new year.

 

Leave a Reply

