On my iPod

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last night I looked through a few team’s pages and they all seemed to have a feature of their players and what music they have on their iPods. Inspired by this, I decided to do a bit of a non-post and list what’s on my game day play list.

Here goes:
P.O.D – Boom – I’ve heard this on so many hockey highlight videos on Youtube, I think it’s quite apt for a game day prep.

Pantera – 5 Minutes alone – I used to only listen to this track when I was playing for Utrecht so it’s a tradition.

The Killers – All the Things that I have done – Song is just so catchy and for somereason gives me this uplifting feeling.

Eminem – Not Afraid – Saw it used on HNIC intro to Game 5 of the Stanley cup final and I thought, ‘what a great title for a song’. Like I’ve mentioned on my blog before, fear is the greatest enemy you can have in a game.

Zombie Nation – Kernkraft 400 – the famous goal song. It’s a must really.

End Stand – I promise not to stay quiet – the opening line of “When standing on the line means giving up/ I promise to take one step ahead.” Sort of a mantra that I try and instill in myself before a game.

In Flames – Dead Alone – Just something fun to listen to really.

Alexisonfire – Young Cardinals – When I heard it, I thought it was a great song and then added it to the playlist because I liked it that much.

CMX – Linnunrata – A Finnish song and kind of reminds me of the Killers. It’s actually quite sad when you listen to the lyrics, but it’s just one of those songs that kind of gets you in the frame.

*EDIT* My Chemical Romance – Na Na Na – I’m actually slightly embarassed to admit to this, but this song found its way on to the playlist after I posted this. I don’t like MCR at all, but the track just has a good hook to it and it’s one of those sort of rambacous tracks. I’ll hang my head in shame for admitting this.

Bleeding Through – Self Defeating Anthem – No real comments for why this is on the play list. I just like the song

Coldplay – Fix You – Normally a bit of a downer track, but being a habs fan and them having used the song when the players skate on to the ice gave me shivers so it got on to the list.

And that’s all folks. That is what is on my gameday playlist that I listen to in the car when I’m getting to the rink. Like I said it’s a bit of a non-post, but just thought I’d do it for kicks.

Comments
  1. […] · Cold Play – Fix you. If you want to read the reasoning why the above songs were on the list, you can see the 2011 post here: https://pushforpros.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/on-my-ipod/ […]

Leave a Reply

