If I didn’t have bad luck, I’d have no luck at all.

Posted: May 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

If I didn’t have bad luck, I would have no luck at all. In case you haven’t been reading my twitter feed (@amateur_hockey), I sprained my ankle whilst running a week ago. What makes it ironic is that I had to take a week off due to ongoing concussion symptoms, which have now subsided (thankfully). As I was running, and baring in mind this is the first bit of exercise I’ve done in a week, I manage to step into a pothole and twist my ankle. I knew straight off that it was a high ankle sprain and within 30 seconds the ankle was the size of a tennis ball. Several curses and expletives later I decided that I’d finish my run as I only had ~800 meters to go. Those 800 meters hurt, but I guess after a week of doing nothing I needed to feel like I’d accomplished something.

Thanks for nothing to all those several business types who walked past me and saw me in agony and for stopped to ask if I was OK. Not that I’m bitter or anything, but still. I know I was sweaty, but I couldn’t have smelled THAT bad you had to avoid me like the plague.

However, I have been able to continue off ice training, despite the ankle injury. Thankfully I didn’t fracture the ankle or anything so I can still do things like spinning and use the cross trainers at the gym. Obviously doing things like snatches and calf raises are out of the question for the moment, which is a slight bummer.

The physio I have looking after my ankle says I should be able to start skating in about a weeks time, which is good. Given that my hip is in good shape and everything I’m hoping that I’ll be able to start skating again soon. I’ve got an appointment with the neurologist next week to ensure that my head is OK and hopefully they’ll show me the green light for contact training as well.

At the moment, though I can only go and look and smell the ice, because I can’t fit my skate on yet. I’m supposed to be given a strap that I can wear in my skate that will support my ankle while skating.

Hip wise I’m doing great. My hip feels just like my knee did after the surgery. I don’t think I’ve ever been made to work that hard in physio as I have been now. My physio, Matt Radcliffe, is a top guy and really understands the sport. You can read his biography here: http://www.performance-stability.com/page.php?Plv=2&P1=2&P2=1&P3=&id=21 I have nothing but good things to say about the guy and I would thoroughly recommend him.

Other than the usual, I’m eagerly waiting to get back on the ice!
Oh yeah! SUOMI! 

Leave a Reply

