Still here…

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

good holiday is now behind me. I have to say that it was one of the more relaxing ones I’ve had in a while. Where I had hoped to do a lot of cardio based exercise during the time I  was away, it didn’t really go to plan. My ankle pretty much told me that I’m not going to be doing any running or walking. I did two 5km runs on the first few days and the ankle got to the point that I felt I had torn something in the foot/ankle. Luckily it wasn’t anything major but served as a warning to take it easy.

 

Otherwise, where the holiday would’ve been a great opportunity to do some proper exercise, it did provide me with something that I had been longing for. It was a break from everything and really helped me to take some time away from training and everything. I think I actually only thought about hockey twice during the entire trip. One was for the Stanley Cup final and when I was at a hockey store looking for new twigs.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I live and breathe hockey, but not thinking about for a while, really makes a difference. Though I haven’t been skating for reasons listed in previous posts, I have been pushing at the gym and constantly focussing on the next season, so the game has been in my mind a lot. So in short, not thinking about hockey every day for two weeks felt great.

 

I’ve also had a scan of my brain and I’m still waiting for results, but I guess the good news there is that the MRI confirms that I have a brain. To be fair, I have not had any concussion symptoms for a long time now, so I’m not the least bit worried about the results.

 

I’m still getting my ass kicked by Matt Radcliffe at physio and he’s put together an awesome Pre-Activation routine for me that I need to get into a habit of doing. The Pre-Activation routine will serve as my warm up as it’s apparently what all the pro athletes are doing. I’ll have to write up the note with all the different bits on it and will post it here so you’ll get an idea what my new warm-ups will be like.

 

So as for rest of training? I’m still carrying on with my strength training and will be looking to get as much time on the slippery stuff as I possibly can to get my legs going. I’ve also started to pound the stairs at the back of my gym to do some jumps and plyometric exercises on them to increase foot speed. All in all I feel really good and ready, but I still need to make sure that my recovery time in between shifts is good so I can get the max out of the engine.

 

I’ll be posting a couple of other ‘story’ type posts in the coming weeks so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

