Let’s Get Going

Posted: September 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

Days are getting shorter and it gets darker quicker. Where many would start to feel depressed about the fact that the summer is leaving us (did we have one in the first place?) it is a sign that one thing is around the corner; the hockey season. It’s time to kiss goodbye to the barbeques, and say hello to the grind. Take a look at the few snaps I took on my way to training from one of the wonderful (hint of sarcasm there) service stations on the M4.

I’ve officially got the last free weekend of the season this coming weekend before the season starts so I’m looking to make the most of it and hopefully get a lie in, but knowing myself I’ll be up at 6am on Saturday trying to find something to keep me occupied for the morning.

 

We’ve been training now for over a month and it’s been good going. First few training sessions took a bit of getting used to and get the legs going, but I definitely feel better going into the season this year as opposed to the condition I was in last season. The big thing that I’m working on now having completed my off-season and preseason weight training is just pure cardio work and doing sprints on the bike and running. Obviously I need to find a good balance between training and rest.

 

On a good note though, I’ve started skating injury free, which must be the first time in years. Last season I came into the season fresh out of rehabbing the knee I had operated, then my hip started to act up, had problems with my wrist and so on. It’s been refreshing and most of all fun skating again and push hard in training. I’m not quite where I want to be yet though so still a bit of work to do, but it’s a better starting point than before.

 

For the longest while, and for obvious reasons I’ve discussed here, it has been fun to drive to the rink again and get on the ice. I’m definitely having more fun with the game than I have done in years, which is a good thing.

 

I’ll be doing more regular updates here on all things related to hockey now that the season is underway and I’m also looking to develop new content for the blog and I’m looking to do more reviews on the side. I’m currently looking at some goods BullDog grooming sent through so stay tuned for that as well. If you have a hockey related product that you want to see reviewed, please do get in touch.

 

If you haven’t noticed before, I’m also writing for Pucks Across The Pond this year. Where the two blogs are similar, I won’t get lazy and regurgitate posts from here on their blog. You can find my ramblings at: http://pucksatp.hockeytutorial.com/info/jannediary/ and I’ll be again writing for the Pitbulls programme.

 

Let’s get this season going!

Leave a Reply

