Healing

Posted: October 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s now been four days since the ankle operation and I’m quite pleased with the outcome of the operation. My ankle has returned to normal size, which it hadn’t been at since I rolled it.

I’ve also noticed that patience is not one of my virtues. I seem to think that if I’m pain free laying down or suitor down, it must mean I’m ok to do other things just as well. I’ve had a few instances where I’ve tried to do thugs too quick and realised that I am still actually recovering.

I am hoping that the ankle will be ok in the skate and that I’m able to resume a full training/playing capability. There is always the chance that I may have to undergo a second operation if this one doesn’t fix the problem.

The second operation has been on the cards since I got the MRI results, but I am keeping my fingers crossed as the second one would be a bigger one and would mean a longer recovery.

I’m anxiously waiting to get the stitches out in a few weeks and to start physio therapy for the ankle to speed the recovery. I’ve already done some slight stretches with a rubber band to strengthen the joint and make sure the ankle stays mobile.

One thing I do miss doing at the moment – aside from playing that is – is driving. Not that there’s anything wrong with my other halves’ driving abilities, it’s just that driving happens to calm me down. Always has done apparently, or so my parents tell me.

I can’t wait to get back out on the ice and start skating again. I think that’s a few weeks away still but when you think about it, it’s not that far off.

Oh yeah. I will be doing movember again this year and this year I’m probably going to add a few moustache pics here. Last years movember was great fun though my handle bar tache did make me look like something from a criminal line up.

There’s also some other exiting things to talk about, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

