Passion

Posted: September 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

I got into a discussion the other day about gardening of all things. I mean I don’t exactly have a loving relationship with the lawnmower, yet I obsess over the lawn when it is over grown and looks untidy.

 

The conversation went along the lines of me saying “I can’t see how some people can obsess over their gardens and keep them all tidy.” To which the response was that “well if people are passionate about something they’ll do it”.

 

At this point you might be thinking “has he gone completely off the rails? This is a hockey blog, not a gardening blog.” Please bear with me. The thing that started to dawn to me from this conversation was the thing about passion.

 

Passion, according to Wikipedia, comes from a Greek word pashko (meaning to suffer). Passion is a term applied to a very strong feeling about a person or thing. It is an intense emotion that pushes us to do things for things that we love.

 

It is no secret that I wear my heart on my sleeve when it comes to hockey. I love to play the game and everything that goes along with it. All the way from the training, the drills, the late nights, the banter, the games, EVERYTHING. I’m passionate about the sport and geek out about it and statistics and the analysis and breaking down of the plays to the sub plots within a game.

 

Passion, is the very thing that pushes us to lace up our skates and take part in competition. We feed off the competition. It is the passion that drives us to put up with the rigours of the game and to push ourselves through the pain that is often synonymous with a hockey season. As players, we don’t know how to live without the highs of a win or the pain and disappointment of losses.

 

Passion for hockey can motivate players, it is a force that makes us be satisfied with what we do, both in winning and losing. Sometimes the passion vanes, or the body gives up, the satisfaction that we get from playing the game lessens.

 

Over the years that I have been involved in the game, my passion has veined, but it has always come back, both as a player and as a fan of the game. I have lived and breathed the game and given everything that I have to the game. To try and get better, all driven by passion for the game.

 

Just as the gardener wants a flawless lawn and garden, the hockey player wants to dedicate him/herself entirely to the game and its demands.

 

It is passion that wins games and ultimately it is passion that wins championships.

Leave a Reply

