Into the Off Season Training I Go

Posted: April 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

So tomorrow it begins. The off season, gruelling slog of work that will no doubt include more than a few sweaty T-shirts and many a power word exclaimed at the gym whilst trying for a new PB. For some reason, I really enjoy off-season training. It’s a chance to push yourself and find new limits and boundaries within yourself. It’s also about improving yourself, not in terms of physique, but to really work on the areas that I felt that needed work.

 

This season, as I mentioned, I will be working with Brandan Schieppati from Rise Above Fitness on the conditioning side. Brandan has worked out a routine for me that suits my requirements and goals for next season. Despite being based on the West Coast in the US, the Internet has made the world a smaller place and I am actually quite excited about this ‘new wave’ of training. I’m the type of guy who can train on his own and doesn’t slack off at the gym.

 

There are a bunch of new moves that I have to learn and a bunch of golden oldies. The routine is completely different to what I have done before and involves more dynamic exercises, and training methods that I feel will improve areas that were lacking last season.

 

I will also be working on some skills things that I think frustrated me during the season and hopefully those will translate well for the ice.

 

Image

To get up-to 20% discount on hockey equipment (skates, sticks, protective, fashion, skills training tools) please click on the image above. When registering your account, use virtanen (all lower case) as your agent password.

Here goes! I’ll keep you posted on the progress. 

Leave a Reply

