First month’s results and lessons learned

Posted: May 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

So I’ve done my first month of training for the new season and I have to admit that the training has been more intensive than ever before, but the results are better. I started the off season being overweight at 90kg, but during the first month of training I have managed to slim my weight down to 82.2kg and the good thing is that it has all been fat, not muscle. You might wonder why my weight was where it was. Well, simple explanation was that I carried a back and groin injury that pretty much stopped all off ice training and the fact I had let my diet get out of hand.

Challenges:

Some of the challenges that I faced during the month were first to get used to some new exercises at the gym. Not that the weight lifting part is a problem, but the moves worked the muscles in such a different way that I wasn’t used to, from the traditional moves that I had done over the years. I wanted to ensure that I was doing the moves right, so I wasn’t able to do some with max weight straight away. Plus an old shoulder injury from my car accident in Jan 2012 came back to haunt me, meaning I had to do some compensation.

The other challenge was the finishers at the end of each weights session. I had gotten used to doing the weights, stretch and go home. This time I have been doing finishers, which are either countless 30 second sprints with 20 second rest period, or jump rope or high box jumps. Killers at the end, but it has helped find that extra gear and taught me to really dig deeper.

Meals: this was something I struggled with the most. I used to eat a balanced diet, but I’m not going to lie, I did eat junk food as well. Before I started I had cut out excess sugar out of my diet, by switching to sugar free drinks and cutting sweets out completely. During this regime, I’ve been eating 6 meals a day, which are high in protein content and I have also increased my vegetable intake. The reason why this has been a challenge is because 1) I was used to eating 3 meals a day 2) eating at the right time 3) making sure I ate the right thing. The additional challenge was that during May, I spent quite a few weekends on the road, so I had to make sure that when I ate, I ate right.

Tell you one thing from the training regimen. I have not ever known how long 40 seconds can feel, or how a minute can feel like an hour when your abdominal muscles are screaming to stop. Or how you’re at the lactic acid toleration limits and the only thought in your head is giving up, but you choose to dig deep and complete the prescribed exercise/reps.

Overall:

I couldn’t be happier with the results. I feel better in myself than in a long while (apart from the niggling shoulder). However, I’m not happy. Once you get happy, you become complacent and lose the focus to work. There are still areas that I need to work on, but this has been a great start so far. I have learnt quite a few things and understood why so many fitness regimes are not as effective as they could be. In the past I believe my workouts were up to par, but the diet side of things wasn’t there.

The person who did my programme delivered what I asked for and provided the encouragement to go out there and do it. Ultimately, it comes down to myself to execute it to get the results that I wanted. No one else is going to do it for me, I have to do it myself.

 

The program and meal plan I followed was designed by Brandan Schieppati. To get your program, visit: http://www.brandanschieppati.com/

Image

To get 20% discounts on all ice hockey and roller hockey equipment, click on the image above and when you register your account, use virtanen (all lowercase) as your agent password and you will get 20% on all current and future purchases.

Leave a Reply

