Midnight epiphanies

Posted: June 9, 2013 in fitness, hockey, ice hockey, Sports

As I woke up at 01:00 it wasn’t because of a noise outside or that I was not sleeping well. I woke up as I had an epiphany. I usually get these epiphanies every summer at different stages, but these epiphanies are what I use as my triggers and as the subconscious affirmations towards the game.

Where I have been working on off ice conditioning for over a month now, it has been out of habit and because I generally enjoy exercise and I like to stay in shape and to make sure that I’m ready for next season. But the epiphany is really the spark for everything. It is what re-lights that fire that was first discovered when a hockey player laced up the skates for the first time. That primitive calling of ‘this is MY thing’.

Well, as if I needs any more affirmations for it, but I love this game. I couldn’t imagine a life without the game and everything that comes with it. I even love the lengthy preparation for the season. This epiphany, like I said, happens every summer and usually acts as a trigger to say that my mind and body have rested enough from last season.

The only thing now is that I have an insatiable urge to be back on the ice and I’m itching for the opening face off already. I want to be on that roller coaster ride that takes you to incredible highs and through the lowest of lows. Hockey can be a cruel mistress.

I don’t think I’ll be catching much sleep tonight as I’m going to be pumped from this.

Leave a Reply

