Are we human?

Posted: April 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

Those were the last words I heard as I was being put under for my shoulder surgery. the surgeon was a bit of a killer’s fan as I heard a whole cavalcade of killer’s best of… collection.

So to those who don’t know yet, I underwent surgery to fix my shoulder that stems back to a 2012 car accident. The accident combined with an active life style meant that my shoulder wore off quickly and caused a further injury. This would’ve been something I would’ve avoided if I was a total couch potato, but given my activities and work, the shoulder really made its presence known.

So I had an anterior stabilisation of the shoulder carried out, along with a SLAP lesion (which if I remember right from the recovery room covered 60% of my labrum) plus a ruptured bicep tendon. The good news is that the operation went well and it wasn’t as bad as the doctors had feared.

So, now I’m in recovery mode, but the good thing is that I should recover quickly and I’ve set myself an aggressive return schedule with the physio and I’m looking forward to getting back to the swing of things. For now my arm is in a sling for 6 weeks which will be a struggle, but I’m viewing this as an opportunity to get mentally stronger.

Every injury is an opportunity if you learn to treat it as such. I will be updating this blog more frequently of the lessons learnt and how the fight back is going.

Leave a Reply

