Road to Recovery: 6 Weeks Exactly

Posted: June 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

My six weeks in the sling are up and I have almost a free reign to use my arm, with a few exceptions and limitations on weight bearing. The six weeks – thinking back on it – went relatively quickly. After the initial painful first few days, the shoulder did settle quite well and didn’t give me huge amounts of grief when put into perspective.

 

There hasn’t really been much to report on in the recovery front. My physio work has been mainly to be strapped into a Compex machine and having my muscles worked by electronic impulses. I anticipate that now things will get more interesting as I can move my arm freely (or at least to the point where the anchors start catching).

 

The six weeks and the strict limitations and restrictions that doctors set for me have had an impact on my fitness levels. After completing my first proper body weight workout today (which included more than squats) I felt a bit winded and out of shape, but I knew to prepare myself mentally for that so that it didn’t come as a surprise.

 

This whole operation and getting back was always going to be facing the challenge head on and working hard to overcome it. It’s not going to be easy, but I am looking forward to the punishing workouts that lie ahead. I’ve viewed this as an opportunity and it still continues to be an opportunity to be stronger and improve weaknesses.

 

What of the future then?

 

Well I’m going on to an agressive recovery plan, which the surgeon said that has proved better results in athletic people. According to this plan I should be back in weight training – though light at first – by July 23rd and starting to skate in non contact environment at the same time. From there things will progress quicker and I should be ready to start contact training in September and be ready to start playing in October.

Like said, there’s a long hard road ahead, but it is not going to get me down.

Leave a Reply

